WhatsApp has clarified what will happen to users who refuse data sharing policy changes. They will no longer be able to read or send messages, while they will only receive calls for a short time. The application advises in this case to export his conversation history and delete his account.
You probably didn’t miss it. Earlier this year, WhatsApp announced a change in its data sharing policy . The application had then been formal. In case of refusal by users, they will have their account deleted . The reaction was not long in coming, and faced with the torrent of negative responses, the messenger postponed the implementation of its measures until May 15, 2021 . As the deadline approaches, it wants to be clearer about the sanctions that await rebel users.
“So that you have time to familiarize yourself with the changes at your own pace, we have extended the deadline for their acceptance to May 15,” recalls WhatsApp. “If you haven’t accepted them by then, WhatsApp won’t delete your account. However, the operation of your WhatsApp account will be limited until acceptance. For a short period of time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications. But you will not be able to read and send messages from the app ”.
A “LIMITED” WHATSAPP FOR ALL THOSE WHO REFUSE THE NEW T & CS
There is therefore no longer any question of deleting an account, but the result is hardly more encouraging. Without the ability to send messages, the application will simply not be usable for the most part. Not to mention the lack of clarity on the part of WhatsApp as to the “short period of time” during which users will be able to receive calls.
Being fully aware of the issue, the messaging advises all people who do not wish to comply with the new policy to save their conversation history before May 15. They can then delete their account on their own. However, the application warns that this is an irreversible operation .